Latest TV Reviews

Sort by: Most Recent | Most Popular     TV Reviews A-Z
  • Breaking Bad: The Fifth Season DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 4th June 2013

    With only eight episodes to go, I have no idea whatsoever how Breaking Bad's going to finish this year, and even less how I'm going to fill the empty shell of a life it'll leave behind for me. Maybe I'll try and recreate key scenes in the shed.

  • Parks and Recreation: Season One DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 2nd April 2013

    I know you have to reckon BBC4's amazing if you're middle class, but in the main I could do without hour-long documentaries about iron filings on a Thursday night. If I get a say how my licence fee's spent, though, I'm happy to sign off on Parks and Recreation.

  • The Following: season one, episodes 1–8

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 19th March 2013

    I like Kevin Bacon a lot. He's the sort of actor who should really be able to elevate a TV project. And the prospect of him leading a major network drama is a great one. But The Following? It's an absolute mess.

  • Justified: The Complete Third Season DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 4th March 2013

    I might have been guilty in the past of pointing out that Timothy Olyphant looks like a date-rapist, and I stand by that. But at the time I'd never been exposed to the splendour of Justified.

  • Black Mirror: Be Right Back

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 13th February 2013

    You read a million articles a week about the creeping ubiquity of technology. Most of them adopt a negative tone from the get-go: statistics showing the high numbers of online interactions we make are offered as evidence that they're replacing our real-life ones, without the idea that they might in fact be supplementing or even enriching them ever raised. This simple scaremongering fear of the unknown is absent in Black Mirror. It's written by people who embrace technology, and use this knowledge to imagine its dark potential. And it is at times quite brilliant.

  • Person of Interest: season one – first half

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 6th November 2012

    Here's a show that's been on for weeks and we haven't mentioned. Now it's off again till January. Ideal time for a review, I'd have thought. PRs take note: send me a DVD and I'll review it some time around it hitting the shelves in Oxfam.

  • Elementary: season one premiere

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 23rd October 2012

    Comparisons between Sherlock and this new American take on the great detective are inevitable, but it's more instructive to compare how the two shows represent their respective countries' TV-making models. Oh, and I might say whether the first episode's good or bad when I'm done trying to look clever.

  • Malcolm in the Middle: The Complete First Season DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 30th September 2012

    You fools. You had no idea of the sharp, biting allegory at the heart of Malcolm in the Middle, did you? No, thought not. Lucky you've got me around.

  • Community: The Complete Second Season DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 26th September 2012

    You'll have noticed that we don't do DVD Weekly any more. It's difficult - arguably futile - to maintain a weekly feature based on DVDs you haven't seen, especially when most of them are reissues of Boon. So yeah, we probably just won't bother covering DVDs from now OH WAIT HERE'S A REALLY GOOD ONE

  • Dexter: season six

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 21st June 2012

    I'm like a reviewing machine these days. I mean, not a very efficient machine; one that churns out two things a week inbetween nodding off on the sofa in front of the football. But hey, that's British manufacturing for you. Coming at'cha down the review conveyor belt tonight: Dexter vs God.