Welcome to TheShiznit.co.uk, your home for movie news, movie reviews and more!
Sign In or Register

Latest Movie Reviews

Sort by: Most Recent | Most Popular     Movie Reviews Index

Review: A Walk Among The Tombstones

Posted by Ed Williamson at 11:00 on 20 Sep 2014
A Walk Among The Tombstones
There comes a point where you just have to say, OK: we've got enough single-minded vigilante killing machines in cinema. We don't need another. That point for me was the three weeks between seeing A Walk Among The Tombstones and The Equalizer, more of which next week. Liam Neeson's latest is much like a lot of his other post-Taken output: you don't need it particularly, but it's there and it does what it's supposed to.

Review: Wish I Was Here

Posted by Ed Williamson at 16:00 on 17 Sep 2014
Wish I Was Here
I worry that I'm getting more intolerant as I age. I like Zach Braff a lot, I find him very funny, and I have no issue with his using Kickstarter to fund Wish I Was Here, as a lot of people seem to. But as per the standard Hollywood template, his film does promote the idea that you should always follow your dreams. Which is fine, except when the right thing to do is give up your dreams, get a job you hate and stay in it till you're 70 to support your family.

Review: Before I Go To Sleep

Posted by Becky Mather at 20:50 on 07 Sep 2014
Before I Go To Sleep
At one point during Before I Go to Sleep, I convinced myself that I too had anterograde amnesia; like Nicole Kidman's character Christine, sometimes my mind would wipe the previous day's events from my brain. However, I quickly realised the link between my memory loss and how many whisky cocktails I'd consumed the night before (hashtag legend) and so, panic over. Much like a whisky-induced hangover though, Before I Go to Sleep will also make you struggle to fill in the blanks with an increasing sense of dread. Hopefully with a bit less sick.

Review: Sex Tape

Posted by Ali Gray at 18:00 on 05 Sep 2014
Sex Tape
"Nobody understands the cloud!" hisses Jason Segel. "It's a fucking mystery!" Prescient words, given recent events; with a plot regarding a mislaid dirty video, Sex Tape is uniquely positioned to capitalise on the most scandalous celebrity leak in history, but it's a shame the movie is too busy blowing smoke up Apple's rear port to make any sort of meaningful comment on the testy relationship between intimacy and technology.

Review: Deliver Us From Evil

Posted by Ali Gray at 22:20 on 31 Aug 2014
Deliver Us From Evil
Have you ever had your enjoyment of a film completely derailed by a small, insignificant part of that movie? A niggle that becomes a bother than becomes all you can think about? I had that with possession thriller Deliver Us From Evil, a competent, forgettable horror flick from the guy who made Sinister. It's a fairly enjoyable movie, if a little flat and unambitious, but in terms of possession movies starring C-list actors with bad scripts, it's par for the course. Except for one thing. A single sound effect. Which ruins the entire movie.

Review: Obvious Child

Posted by Ed Williamson at 07:45 on 29 Aug 2014
Obvious Child
If you are a hipster, then you are welcome here. This website is a broad church and no one is turned away. But know this: I do not understand you. Be you Williamsburg or Shoreditch, you are an alien to me, as are all your kind. Aren't your trousers uncomfortable? Aren't jam jars massively difficult to drink out of? Do you have to eat loads of jam just to get the jars? And yet you are a significant enough cultural phenomenon that you bear documentation through film and television, which is more than you can say for me.

Review: As Above, So Below

Posted by Becky Mather at 16:00 on 28 Aug 2014
As Above, So Below
On a rainy August night, I was subjected to an odd and unusual experiment. In the name of science, I was strapped to a heart monitor and readings were taken of my body's response to As Above, So Below to determine how many calories I would burn watching a horror film. Unaware that I'm a complete badass and scared of nothing, the foolish scientists were in for a shock – it was clear to me that I would completely skew their results with my super-human powers (I recently ran 2k on a treadmill without stopping). However when the film finished, the results disturbed us both...

Review: Million Dollar Arm

Posted by Ed Williamson at 12:45 on 26 Aug 2014
Million Dollar Arm
The movies' use of sports as a metaphor for personal growth far outstrips the idea's efficacy in real life. Your team's against-the-odds victory in the Rumbelows Cup is unlikely to inspire a realisation that you have your priorities all wrong and lead to a marriage proposal to your long-suffering girlfriend.

But there's something in it. No, watching the snooker doesn't really mimic the ups and downs of real life, but there's a real euphoria and a despondency that sports can inspire, which can convince you momentarily that your life is amazing or terrible. Translate that to the big screen, framed around a guy who's learning to be a bit less self-centred or to pull himself out of a humdrum existence, and you've got yourself the template for a sports movie.

Review: Into The Storm

Posted by Rob Young at 07:00 on 22 Aug 2014
Into The Storm
Unless you toss a few sharks into the mix, or have Bill Paxton chasing them down, it’s tough to get people riled up about a tornado. No, what people want these days are several of the windy buggers, scary-as-hell firenados, entire towns flattened, confused shaky cams, people scrambling for phone signal and a pair of drunken thrill-seeking hillbillies with a GoPro looking for YouTube hits.

Review: What If

Posted by Becky Mather at 07:00 on 21 Aug 2014
What If
The world of rom-coms is a fickle one; for every When Harry Met Sally there's The Other Half (starring Danny Dyer, it's on Netflix) or something-or-other starring Isla Fisher tripping over a lot. Whilst it's not going to break new romantic ground, the likeable leads and overwhelming sweetness of What If won me over. God I hate myself sometimes.
Out this week
+Sex Tape (15)
Our review | All articles
+Before I Go To Sleep (15)
Our review
+The Guest (15)
+They Came Together (15)
+Life Of Crime (15)