Latest TV Reviews

Sort by: Most Recent | Most Popular     TV Reviews A-Z
  • Review: Game of Thrones bows out burning bridges, own fingers, everything

    TV Review | Luke Whiston | 21st May 2019

    So now that the Marvel Cinematic Universe and Game of Thrones are at an end - two of the most popular, costliest and consistently epic franchises to ever exist in film and TV - and we've chewed over when and how to talk about them online, are we at some kind of 'spoiler event horizon' or a 'spoiler singularity'? I don't know either, just wanted to say something that sounded clever. Tits and willies and dragons eh, cor!

  • Review: After Life is not deft enough to avoid causing friendly fire

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 22nd March 2019

    To promote his new Netflix show After Life, Ricky Gervais is out doing the podcast rounds, and telling anyone who'll listen why people who are offended by any of his jokes must have misunderstood them. He's probably right in some cases. But what he never considers, or at least never acknowledges, is that if a lot of people are misunderstanding your jokes, maybe it's because you aren't skilled enough at delivering them.

  • Crazy Ex-Girlfriend: season one

    TV Review | Ali Gray | 17th August 2016

    It's quite rare for me to embark on a televisual adventure without at least several months of prep: five-star reviews, extensive marketing campaigns, assurances that the hours of my life I'll inevitably lose to this programme will totally be worth it. But sometimes I like to be surprised. So, with no other recommendation than the accolade "the best show with the worst title" (copyright some rando on Twitter), I started watching Crazy Ex-Girlfriend on Netflix last week. 18 glorious episodes later, I am here to give you your five-star review, your marketing campaign and your assurance that the hours of your life you'll lose to this programme will totally be worth it. Fittingly for a show about obsessive behaviour in relationships, I am late-night-phone-calls, million-text-Monday, snot-streaming-down-face-outside-bedroom-window OBSESSED with this show.

  • The Night Manager

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 8th April 2016

    Dayman! Uhh-AHH-ahh! Fighter of the Night Manager! Is all I could think of when I heard the title. Then I found out it had House and Loki in it, and I was on board, although still mainly for the Dayman thing.

  • Masters of Sex: Season Two DVD

    TV Review | Iain Robertson | 31st May 2015

    Yes, you thought this site consisted solely of recaps of Mad Men and Catfish nowadays. Well, surprise. We also review shows that are a little bit like Mad Men.

  • The Missing: season one

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 17th December 2014

    You could look at The Missing two ways, I suppose. Either it was ultimately about what happened to the kid or about what his disappearance did to his parents. The latter was more interesting to me but the finale tried a bit too hard to satisfy on both counts, letting them cancel each other out in the end. (Spoilers.)

  • Gotham: season one, episode 1

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 25th September 2014

    Since the dawn of time, man has struggled with the eternal question. Should Batman be camper than a chicken, or dark and embittered, brooding in the shadows and all miffed, like? Well, here's FOX's solution: how about a bit of both? (Spoiler-free.)

  • BoJack Horseman: season one

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 2nd September 2014

    It's a cartoon about a drunk horse, but I still think it has something interesting to say about contemporary celebrity. I will not let this Media Studies degree go to waste.

  • Hell on Wheels: The Complete Third Season DVD

    TV Review | Ed Williamson | 22nd August 2014

    No one makes engaging drama about the people who built the first British railways, do they? No, we just get documentaries about it on BBC4 presented by men in cardigans. Did the British railway pioneers spend half their time shooting folk, throwing back sippin' whisky and frequenting mobile brothels? Probably not, and anyway, no one wants to see them do it.

  • Masters of Sex: The Complete First Season DVD

    TV Review | Iain Robertson | 1st August 2014

    You can imagine the pitch meeting for Masters Of Sex: "It's like Mad Men – but with boobs!" Whilst it's not an entirely inaccurate description – there's lots of attractive people in fabulous period costumes, smoking, slow-burning plots aplenty and, yes, boobs (not to mention a never-ending parade of other body parts, both male and female) – it's very much its own show. For a start, at no point in Mad Men does anyone brandish a dildo called Ulysses, although Don could probably do one hell of an ad campaign for it.